I love books, and there's no reason why books can't contain my art!  Here are my latest set of bookmarks.  On all of them, I have done a zigzag stitch on the sides and allowed the ends to fray rather than seam them.  This is so they will lie flat in a book.
Picture
Pleat-resisted and dyed, glue resisted and painted with dye.
Picture
Pleat resisted and dyed, glue resisted and painted with dye.
Picture
Scrunch resisted and dyed, glue resisted and painted with dye.
Picture
Tie-dyed, glue resisted and painted with dye, block printed with textile paint.
Picture
Painted with dye, glue resisted and painted with dye again.
Picture
Pole-wrapped and dyed, glue resisted and painted with dye.
Picture
Pole-wrapped and dyed, glue resisted and painted with dye, block printed with textile paint.
Picture
Tie-dyed, glue-resisted and painted with dye, block printed with textile paint.
Picture
Pleat-resisted and dyed, glue resisted and painted with dye, block printed with textile paint.
Picture
Tie-dyed, glue resisted and painted with dye.
Picture
Pleat-resisted and dyed, glue resisted and painted with dye.
Picture
Pleat-resisted and dyed, glue resisted and painted with dye, block printed with textile paint.
Picture
Painted with dye, glue resisted and painted with dye again.
Picture
Pleat-resisted and dyed, glue resisted and painted with dye, block printed with textile paint.
Picture
Pleat-resisted and dyed, glue resisted and painted with dye, block printed with textile paint.
In other news, I have been working on a piece that I'm very proud of.  I don't have a photo of it yet but I'll try to get it up as soon as I can.  I wrote part of Proverbs 31, which is about the Wife of Good Character.  It's a verse that is used by both feminists and complementarians, or people who believe that men and women have separate roles.  I use the feminist interpretation, which I take to mean that the ideal wife is economically independent and has a good work ethic.  It's my first sort of political work, and it was fairly labor intensive so I'm going to have it as a wall hanging rather than a placemat.  I don't want to be making four of these, unless they are a series for a gallery or something.



Leave a Reply.